I've been thinking a lot about words lately. Words, and how we use them.

Words matter. 

Words mean things.

Word can be used to comfort or to wound.  To heal or to hurt.  To bless or to curse.

Words can be used to persuade or to manipulate.  To build up or to tear down.  To reveal or to conceal.

The Old Testament book of Proverbs - a collection of wise sayings and instructions to help people live with wisdom and understanding:

"To know wisdom and instruction, to understand words of insight, 
to receive instruction in wise dealing, in righteousness, justice, and equity; 
to give prudence to the simple, knowledge and discretion to the youth..."
          Proverbs 1:2-4 ESV

is full of caution and instruction for how we use our words.  Here's just a sampling...

Proverbs 6:2-3
"if you are snared in the words of your mouth, caught in the words of your mouth, 
then do this, my son, and save yourself... go, hasten, and plead urgently with your neighbor." 

Proverbs 10:19
"When words are many, transgression is not lacking, but whoever restrains his lips is prudent."

Proverbs 12:6
"The words of the wicked lie in wait for blood, but the mouth of the upright delivers them."

Proverbs 16:24
"Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body."

Proverbs 29:20
"Do you see a man who is hasty in his words? There is more hope for a fool than for him."

Words matter.  Words mean things.


How are you using your words?  


To build up or to tear down?  To reveal truth or to hide "inconvenient truths" that weaken your position?


To bring glory to God or to yourself?  To point others toward Jesus or to make yourself look good?


To get your way or to find the best option for you and others (even those you disagree with)?


I want David's words in Psalm 19:14 to be my prayer when I speak, when I right, when I communicate.  


Will you join me in this prayer... 


On the Potter's Wheel...

"Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer. " 

Amen.






Leave a Reply.